Did The Washington Post have a data breach?
Answer
Yes. The Washington Post reported a data breach to the OR Attorney General on July 14, 2026.
View the official filingWhat the filing says
- Reported to
- OR Attorney General
- Filing date
- July 14, 2026
- Breach date
- September 29, 2025
- People affected
- Not stated in the filing
In plain terms
The Washington Post submitted a data breach notification to Oregon authorities regarding an incident that occurred on September 29, 2025. The filing indicates an ongoing investigation into the event, though specific details about the types of personal information involved or the number of people affected were not disclosed.
The Washington Post has filed a data breach notification with Oregon state authorities, reporting an incident that took place on September 29, 2025. The public record indicates that the nature of the breach itself remains unspecified at this time.
According to the official filing, the specific categories of personal information involved in this incident were not detailed. Similarly, the number of individuals potentially impacted by the breach was not provided in the report submitted to Oregon regulators.
The breach report was officially filed on July 14, 2026. At the time of the filing, the incident was noted as still being under investigation, suggesting that further details may emerge as inquiries progress.
Individuals who may be affected by any data incident should exercise caution and maintain vigilance. It is advisable to monitor your online accounts for any unusual or unauthorized activity and be wary of unexpected communications.
General protective measures include regularly updating passwords to strong, unique combinations for each online service and enabling multi-factor authentication whenever possible. Reviewing financial statements and credit reports periodically can also help identify any fraudulent transactions or unauthorized access.
Other filings by The Washington Post
Companies often file the same breach in several states. Each filing is listed separately.
- The Washington PostYes — reportedTX · July 14, 2026
- The Washington PostYes — reportedVermont · July 13, 2026
- The Washington PostYes — reportedVT · July 13, 2026
- The Washington PostYes — reportedCA · July 13, 2026
- The Washington PostYes — reportedCalifornia · November 12, 2025
- The Washington PostYes — reportedIN · November 12, 2025
Commonly recommended next steps
Stay alert to targeted scams
Be cautious of calls, texts, or emails that reference this breach. Legitimate organizations won't ask you to confirm sensitive details through an unsolicited message.
Keep your notification letter
Save the notice you received. It documents that your information was involved and is often needed to enroll in any credit monitoring offered or to join a related legal claim.
Look up another company
Other breaches reported in OR
- Abbott Cancer DiagnosticsYes — reportedOR · August 6, 2026
- Aesto LLCYes — reportedOR · August 5, 2026
- CareCloud, Inc.Yes — reportedOR · August 4, 2026
- JRK Property Holdings, Inc.Yes — reportedOR · August 4, 2026
- CTS Journey Holdings, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company (DBA Corporate Travel Service)Yes — reportedOR · August 3, 2026
- The Moody Bible Institute of ChicagoYes — reportedOR · July 31, 2026
- SM Energy CompanyYes — reportedOR · July 30, 2026
- ADT, Inc.Yes — reportedOR · July 28, 2026
- Bridgeway Benefit Technologies LLCYes — reportedOR · July 24, 2026
- YouLend US LLCYes — reportedOR · July 15, 2026
DataBreachSearch.com reports what was filed with state regulators. It is not legal advice, is not a law firm, and is not affiliated with any government agency or with The Washington Post.